- Michael John GREENWOOD, Regional Director, Local Government Practice, North West, Department for Communities and Local Government.
- Ms Judith Elizabeth HACKITT, Director, Chemistry for Europe Implementation, European Chemical Industry Council. For services to Occupational Health and Safety.
- Helen Clare, Mrs. HAMILTON, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Oxford Radcliffe Hospital. For services to Healthcare.
- Rolf HARRIS, O.B.E. For services to Entertainment and to the Arts.
- Anthony HARTNEY, Headteacher, Gladesmore Community School, Haringey, London. For services to Education.
- Professor Nicholas HASTIE, Director, Human Genetics Unit, Medical Research Council. For services to Science.
- Andrew Christopher HAYMAN, Q.P.M., Assistant Commissioner, Specialist Crime, Metropolitan Police. For services to the Police.
- Ms Sarah Elizabeth HENDRY, Head, Global Atmosphere Division, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
- Professor James Wilson IRONSIDE, Professor of Clinical Neuropathology, National Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance Unit, University of Edinburgh. For services to Medicine.
- Professor George Livingston IRVING, Chair, Ayrshire and Arran NHS Board. For services to the NHS and to the community in Ayrshire.
- Dr. Barrie JONES, Chief Operating Officer, Mines Rescue Service Ltd. For services to the Coal Industry.
- Ms Karen Elisabeth Dind JONES, Chief Executive, Spirit Group. For services to the Hospitality Industry.
- Richard KIRK, Chief Executive, Peacock Group plc. For services to Business and to Charity in Wales.
- Andrew Gerard KUYK, Head, Crops, Plants and Produce Division, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
- David William KYLE. For services to the Criminal Justice System.
- Jennifer Irene, Mrs. LEACH, lately Chief Guide, Girlguiding UK. For services to Young People.
- Peter LORD, Co-Founder, Aardman Animation Ltd. For services to Animation and Film.
- Professor Sarah Jane MACINTYRE, O.B.E., Director, Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, Medical Research Council; and Honorary Professor, University of Glasgow. For services to Social Science.
- Ms Hilary Mary MANTEL, Writer. For services to Literature.
- Peter MARTIN. For services to People who Misuse Substances.
- Richard Henry MAUDSLAY, Deputy Chairman, Hardy & Greys Ltd. For services to Business in the North East.
- Amelia, Mrs. FREEDMAN-MILLER, M.B.E., Founder and Artistic Director, Nash Ensemble. For services to Music.
- John Robert MILLIGAN, Chair of Court, University of Dundee. For services to Higher Education and to Welfare to Work.
- George MITCHELL, lately Chief Executive, Corporate Banking, HBOS plc and Governor, Bank of Scotland. For services to the Finance Industry.

- Dr. Lynne Patricia MORRIS, Principal, Joseph Chamberlain College, Birmingham. For services to Further Education.
- John Maughan MYERS, lately Senior Operating Officer, The Pension Service.
- Eric Luciano NICOLI, Executive Chair, EMI Group plc. For services to the Music Industry.
- Douglas McCallum PATERSON. Chief Executive, Aberdeen City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Professor Richard Henry Collins PENNY. For services to Veterinary Education and Animal Welfare.
- His Honour Judge John Andrew PHILLIPS. For services to the Criminal Justice System.
- Professor Cynthia PINE, Dean of Dental Studies, University of Liverpool. For services to Dentistry.
- Kevin Pogson, Regional Director for the South East, Her Majesty's Court Service.
- Elizabeth, Mrs. RAILTON, Honorary Secretary, Association of Directors of Social Services and Director of Children's Services, Essex County Council. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Esther Louise RANTZEN, O.B.E. (Mrs. Wilcox), President, ChildLine; Trustee, NSPCC and President, Association of Young People with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis. For services to Children and Young People.
- Professor Francis Christopher Rowland ROBINSON, Professor of History of South Asia, Royal Holloway, University of London. For services to Higher Education and to the History of Islam.
- Stephen John SANDERSON, Headteacher, St. Joan of Arc Roman Catholic Primary School, Bootle, Sefton. For services to Education.
- Professor Simon Andrew SMAIL, Dean, School of Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education, Cardiff University. For services to Medicine.
- John Edward SPANSWICK, Chairman, Bovis Lend Lease. For services to Health and Safety and to the Construction Industry.
- Christopher Alexander SPENCE, M.B.E. For charitable services.
- David SPROXTON, Co-Founder, Aardman Animation Ltd. For services to Animation and Film.
- Mollie, Mrs. TEMPLE, lately Vice Chancellor, University of Bolton. For services to Higher Education.
- Patricia Anne, Mrs. THOMAS, lately Local Government Ombudsman. For services to Local Government.
- Margaret Edith, Mrs. THORNE, O.B.E., Chair, Neath Port Talbot Council of Voluntary Service. For charitable services in Wales.
- William Brian TURTLE, Director and Chief Executive, Belfast Institute of Further and Higher Education. For services to Further Education and to Lifelong Learning.
- Ms Julia UNWIN, O.B.E., Deputy-Chair, Food Standards Agency. For services to Consumers.
- Ms Sarah VEALE, Head, Equality and Employment Rights, Trades Union Congress. For services to Diversity.
- Stephen WALKER, Chief Executive, NHS Litigation Authority. For services to the NHS.
- Ms Deborah WARNER, Theatre and Opera Director. For services to Drama.